Sunday, 21 August 2011

Mozart: Horn Concertos Nos 1-4 ? review

Alessio Allegrini (horn), Orchestra Mozart/ Abbado

Having won golden praise for their symphony and violin concerto recordings with Abbado, the young Orchestra Mozart now turns to the wind concertos with the outstanding horn soloist Alessio Allegrini. His tone is full but flexible, sustained but lyrical, and he manages to impart a certain wistfulness to even the jolliest rondos, such as the E flat one that Flanders and Swann memorably set to words. The orchestra in that rondo relishes the twists in the bass line and, throughout, is a model of sophistication. It's just a pity there is not a word in the booklet about the complex history of the music itself, and that Allegrini didn't take the chance to include the unfinished E major concerto movement, one of Mozart's greatest fragments. © Guardian News & Media Limited 2011 | Use of this content is subject to our Terms & Conditions | More Feeds


Movie News Celebrity Gossip Dancing On Ice X Factor

No comments:

Post a Comment